Five Questions With Pato Margetic

When you first hear Pato Margetic, you might be confused. Confused as to what you’re actually hearing. The Argentinian Detroit, MI based guitarist may sound like an up and coming R&B star, but his music defies classification. Song after song on his new EP, Into The Universe sounds like something completely different. You go from pop music, to R&B, acoustic soul, just plain old soul, world music and even hip-hop.  It’s really quite remarkable how Pato is able to fuse all these styles together for something seamless, something that’s hard to find anywhere else.

After a brief hiatus of our “Five Questions…” post, Pato joined me to talk his new EP, the genesis of his name and some people he’d like to work with in the future.

1. So Pato (the name), where’d that come from?

“Pato” is a nickname for my full name, Patricio. “Pato” is a common name in Spanish speaking countries and my family is from Argentina.

2. I feel like your music style is almost a hodgepodge of different genres. I hear R&B, funk, pop, acoustic and even hip-hop. How would you describe your musical style? Who are some of your influences?

I have been describing my genre in a unique way lately. I have been telling people “Pato Soul.” I include my name because the original music really is a part of my soul. I love music that is from the heart and not just to sell records, so I try to make sure every song means something to me and the listener can feel that. Ever since I started creating music my instinct was to involve “Soul” in the genre.

My favorite music and influences include Maroon 5, Justin Timberlake, Usher, Bruno Mars, Eminem, John Legend, Otis Redding, Johnny Cash and Michael Jackson.

3. You just released a new Five song EP, can you talk about the recording process? What’s next? A tour? More recording sessions?

While I’m releasing “Into The Universe” I plan to advertise and market to new people and fans! This is my 3rd professionally recorded album and yes it would be amazing to set up a national tour and promote it along with my previous albums. I am a full time musician here in Michigan, so I am lucky to perform acoustic and full band shows all the time. After live shows, that is my favorite time to hit the studio and I have been lucky enough to work out of Denaun Porter’s production house, “My Own Planet.” There is a talented staff of engineers ready to record and assist artists when they are ready to lay down a new track and that’s part of the recording process. A whole team of people definitely made this project happen and I am excited to put copies of the new EP into hands nationally and even globally soon!

I am already back in the studio creating new concepts. I have a few surprise collaborations in the works and some new material that no one has heard yet! I try to stay 5 steps ahead so I’m always working on something new. The fact that I get to record and perform music for a living makes me so happy. As an entertainer, I only hope to spread my joy and music with everyone along the way.

4. I think my personal favorite song is “All My Mistakes” because of the guitar playing. Is it you playing guitar? Do you play guitar on the rest of the EP?

Thank you! I’m glad you like that tune…Yes, I played guitar on “All My Mistakes” and composed the music and lyrics. The lead guitar at the end of the song was played by a friend named Gibran Rutherford, a Detroit guitarist who came in and killed the solo in one take at one of our sessions. I love how that record turned out! I do play guitar on the rest of the EP although a few songs are experimental House and Hip-Hop and don’t call for guitar, so I challenged myself vocally. I wanted to take risks with “Into The Universe” yet stay true to my roots, so I included both acoustic and electric guitar, and some new sounds I’m into at the moment. I’m happy with the overall flow of the record.

5. Who are some people you’d like to collaborate with in the future?

Being from Detroit, I would love to collaborate with Eminem. I think Soul and R&B mixed with Hip-Hop is one of the greatest things since sliced bread, so that would be a dream collaboration. Even if I were to play acoustic guitar and do a soulful, bluesy track with Em, I think that would be dope! I have yet to hear anyone match his flow and lyrics, so that would be probably the number one collaboration I would hope for, I’m a huge fan! I would also love to work with Pharrell Williams. I like what he did with Robin Thicke, Justin Timberlake, N.E.R.D. and now Daft Punk, so I wonder what he’d produced with me on guitar. I would also love to do an old school duet with Beyonce, or Mariah Carey, maybe even write a song with Katy Perry someday. The best thing about collaborating is that you learn something new from that artist, so I am always down to sit in a room, get creative, and make the most kick-ass music possible.

 

 

Leave a Reply

