Five Avett Brothers Songs You Should Hear Right Now

As you might be able to tell by now, I’m not a huge fan of country music. It’s not that I don’t appreciate the musicality or talent of country musicians, but I really just don’t like the pre-packaged pop country sounds of artists like Toby Keith or Tim McGraw. I DO however enjoy country music by artists like Johnny Cash or more specifically The Avett Brothers.

The Avett Brothers have a knack for making country music that sounds fresh and spontaneous. Formed by two brothers in North Carolina, the group has recorded seven albums with an eight to be released this Fall. I did have the opportunity to see them at Governors Ball two weeks ago, but they were unfortunately paired against Kanye West. I obviously went to go see Kanye West.

Their sixth album I and Love and You is actually my favorite album released in the past five years. It was produced by Rick Rubin.  The Avett Brother’s music is great for working to, so go head and listen to these songs while you’re plugging away this Tuesday afternoon.

1. I and Love and You

2. Live and Die

3. January Wedding

4. Ten Thousand Words

5. If It’s The Beaches

Leave a Reply

