Five Things We Know About Kanye West’s Yeezus

I went to go see Kanye West at the Governors Ball Music Festival this weekend and I said last week, I was most excited to see Mr. West. Not only does he have a great live show, but he would premiering a lot of his new music off his new album, Yeezus.  We have already heard “Black Skinhead” and “New Slaves” during his Saturday Night Live performance, but I know he would show us more. West did not disappoint. He debuted some of his new stuff during his set which were VERY influenced by EDM.

I wasn’t in love with the songs, but hearing them live for the first time might not be the best way to hear this music. After hearing the album versions, I think I’ll have a better idea of what is trying to accomplish. But, Yeezus is set to be released new Tuesday and as we are a week away, I figured I would do a post on “Five Things We Know About Yeezus.”

1. It will be released June 18th

2. It will have very limited cover art

3. Not many rappers are set to guest on the album.

During a listening party at MILK Studios last night, West confirmed that Daft Punk, TNIGHT and Justin Vernon are involved in the project. Chief Keef, Kid Cudi and Frank Ocean are the only hip-hop artists to have a guest spot on the album.

4. Yeezus will have ten songs.

Here is the tracklist:

01 “On Site” (produced by Daft Punk)
02 “Black Skinhead” (produced by Daft Punk)
03 “I Am a God” (produced by Daft Punk)
04 “New Slaves” (featuring Frank Ocean) (samples “Gyöngyhajú lány” by Omega)
05 “Can’t Handle My Liquor” (featuring Chief Keef and Justin Vernon)
07 “Could’ve Been Somebody”
08 Untitled (featuring Kid Cudi) (samples “Strange Fruit” by Billie Holiday and “R U Ready” by TNGHT)
09 Untitled (featuring King Louie)
10 “Bound” (samples “Bound” contains samples of “Bound” by Ponderosa Twins Plus One and “Sweet Nothin’s” by Brenda Lee)

5. If it is anything like West has done, it will be interesting, awesome and divisive at the same time. 



2 responses to “Five Things We Know About Kanye West’s Yeezus

  1. No Tyler the Creator? I coulda sworn I saw his name on a tracklist last month. figures its fake tho hah

  2. Pingback: Artwork & Tracklist: Kanye West – Yeezus | HOTC_TV·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s